Posted in Uncategorized

Reverence in Stillness

                                          drawing of aloe 2

Memoir and journal excerpts…

Back to the reverent and writing from life. I’m reminded of some of my dearest teachers. During those first two years of idyllic college life where I was introduced to of Zen Buddhism, I was also introduced to the work of Italian metaphysical artist, Giorgio Morandi who died in 1964. He devoted his entire life to painting still life and landscapes. Morandi painted bottles and vases over and over again, varying the light and the placement of his objects. His muted colors emanated balance and security. His paintings epitomized the sacred and the mundane. His work represents a supernatural quality of every day routine and singleness of purpose. “Morandi is never grandiose, though he can be grand” wrote Holland Cotter. He was an artist who escaped Facism.

I wanted to be like Morandi. 

Imagine being so focused and dedicated to one style, morning to nightfall, year in, year out.

Observation: If you allow yourself to do repetitive tasks, the outside world ceases to exist and anxiety is quelled.

My personal experience:Piecework and repetition works as a stress buster. There is something to the rhythm of sameness that calms restlessness.

Journal suggestion: Try writing without editing about a still life, garden scene, or landscape.

colored pencil flower

Author:

I'm writing. I haven't been on my blog much, so please forgive the lack of updates. I'm doing art. My life is dedicated to any cause that helps the planet and is good for children and other living beings. Don't get me started on politics because it won't be pretty. Humor helps. Check y'all later.

Leave a Reply

