Posted in poetry, social commentary

Poem for the Boston Runners and Families

                                sketch with woman and bird

I was so saddened this week by the news from Boston. My journal entries contain precognitive dreams. Highlighted is Jesse’s (dear hubby)  dream of last week and the feelings of uneasiness neither of us could seem to shake.  We often chalk up such premonitions to symptoms of aging, but we know better now after 28 years.

 In the dream there were two men, dangerous men. There was a fight and the feeling of violence, a sense of shattered peace. The next night he had another vivid dream with men fighting.

No longer do my husband and I question what goes in the subconscious. We often share our dreams when we awaken. I can’t imagine not conferring this way with my best friend.  I can’t imagine being without my notebook of dreams.

Juxtaposed to the beauty of this glorious Saturday in the blossoming desert Southwest is the presence of grief going on right now. Yes, disasters bring people together. We all share in the loss of loved ones, especially children, no matter what nationality. All the platitudes about moving on and heroes fall short for some reason.

Here is my poem:

                                                          April Tears 2013

Boston,

where

spring skies showered a thundering

pause

on cobblestone streets

raining deep ghosted blues.

Someone in Saturn’s bad dream

darkened

the gorge of ignorance

unaware that celestial goodness is shoulder to shoulder

walking here

on earth,

vigilant

never straying from completion.

The destiny of compassion knows

the wholeness of all that is,

in prana, the fire

of good deeds.

In the footsteps of dharma

by souls in their endless work,

shadows bend into the wind

of many flags

centered around simple truth:

We are one.

Copyright  © 2013  by Susan E. Rowland

Author:

I made it this far and plan to keep going. I believe nature heals the soul. I love to journal, to write, do art, and music. I'm not afraid to tackle tough subjects. Solar-powered & drive hybrid. Trying to do my part. Earned my BA at 53. And, I believe, it's never too late to have a happy childhood.

Leave a Reply

