Posted in inspirational, memoir, Uncategorized, writers

Andrea Lewis Writes Her Way Out of Drama and Into Hope

Arndrea
Welcome to  my MINI VIEWS, short interviews with authors of all genres.
Please meet Andrea Lewis. I won her e – book  on Kathy Pooler’s blog.

Biography

Andrea Lewis lives in Ontario, Canada. She is the author of Dramaville is a not a place; it’s a state of mind. Her memoir promises to be filled with drama, emotional turmoil and an inspiration to never give up! Connect with Andrea here.

Dramaville is a memoir about relationships and struggle.  Lewis explores the world of childhood abuse and triumph. With Trinidadian cultural roots, she looks at codependency, dysfunctional families, work and the journey of self – understanding.

MINI VIEWS:

Sue: Do you journal as a way to record your thoughts?

Andrea: I journal each morning to release any anxieties that I may have and to check in with my thoughts. I’m able to perceive clearly what’s going on in my life and confidently make decisions because I believe in myself.

Sue:  What  got you started in writing?

Andrea: Three years ago I started a personal blog to write about the happenings in my life. I was writing for pure joy and I had no real plan at all. But my friends kept encouraging me to write and some even told me that they thought I had found my niche. Months later, I was called to write my story and I’ve never looked back.

Sue: How did you decide to do an e-book?

Andrea: I chose to self-publish my memoir in an e-book format to keep my costs down. My intention is to build my author platform and then have my memoir traditionally published in a paperback format.

Sue:  I notice you don’t indent your paragraphs and that you write in an almost journal-type style. Do you prefer a certain format style?

The reason the paragraphs are not indented is actually a standard imposed by Smashwords and Amazon. All text and formatting is stripped of styles in order for the aggregator to convert the text to an electronic format.

As for writing in an almost journal style, I did not plan to write this way. When I initially put pen to paper to write my story, the words flowed out of me more on an intuitive level which resulted in a journal style.

Sue: What are you working on now?

Andrea: I am currently writing a sequel to Dramaville. The working title is: Happy Town. It’s about pursuing the life of my dreams. I’m also writing guest blogs and jotting musings for an adult fantasy fiction novel idea I am marinating on.

Thanks, Andrea! I’m looking forward to reading more of your work.

                                 looking-up

Author:

I'm a writer, artist, and spiritual intuitive. Illustrated journals are my passion and I've been journaling since childhood. I believe in the power of sharing stories together. Working on a memoir.

9 thoughts on “Andrea Lewis Writes Her Way Out of Drama and Into Hope

  1. Nice interview, Sue. Andrea, It’s so nice to see you on my good friend, Sue’s blog. I’m happy you two have connected. I’m happy to hear you are working on a sequel to DRAMAVILLE and intrigued to hear you have a fiction book marinating. I haven’t felt the pull to write fiction but I see that many memoir writers turn to fiction after finishing their memoirs. Do you suppose fiction becomes attractive after the exhaustive process memoir writing takes? Thank you both!

    1. Hi Kathy, thanks for taking the time to comment! I’m enjoying your blogposts and guests. Cheers on the writing journey.

    2. Kathy, thank you for introducing me to Sue. The fiction idea just “happened.” Since it’s a new style of writing for me, It’s definitely going to be a challenge to bring my characters to life, but I’m for it. 🙂

  2. It’s my pleasure. I’m truly enjoying meeting you, reading your book, and talking about writing. I also wanted mention the cool cover of Dramaville. Add anything else you want to tell the readers about yourself and your work.

  3. Andrea, I’m so glad you talked the benefits of writing in your journal each morning—how it helps you unearth what’s going on inside of you. I teach journaling, and this is something I probably should discuss with my students more: journaling can help us get in touch with our *real* feelings—our state of mind, discomforts, things that might seem out of balance on a particular morning or time in our lives.

    I am convinced that the authenticity of your voice in Dramaville is a result of its having originated in your journal. Thank you!

    1. Thanks so much for the comment Lynette. It was my therapist that got me into journaling years ago and the more I wrote regularly, the more connected I felt to SELF and the less dependent I was on other peoples opinions regarding my life. I’m constantly raving about the benefits of journaling to my friends and always encourage them to journal.

Leave a Reply

