Posted in interviews, memoir, writers

Talk Shop with Writer Lynette Benton

        lynettes photo for blogpost

Today  on MINI VIEWS I have the pleasure of introducing you to  lovely blogger, Lynette Benton. I met her through eBook author Andrea Lewis and on Twitter. Benton has years of experience with the printed word. She offers coaching, teaching, editing, and is working on two memoirs.

Sue: What do YOU feel makes for good writing?

Lynette: The ability to describe a person or situation, or pull the reader into a place with deft strokes of the pen or computer keys, always takes my breath away.

Of course, voice—or personality—is another element that attracts me to a narrative. Notice how sometimes you feel uneasy with a book, and can’t necessarily explain why? It could be that the “voice” of the narrator just doesn’t appeal to you.

Rhythm is also important. One of the aspects of Vivian Gornick’s memoir, Fierce Attachments, for example, that I like best is its varied rhythms, from her mother’s early languor to the narrator’s walks through pulsating Manhattan streets with her re-energized mother.

Sue: Can you tell us a little about your writing life? What got you started?
Lynette: Let’s just say I was the middle child in a talkative family. Writing was a route to get my thoughts across. I go into my development as a writer a bit more here.

Sue: What is the title and narrative arc of your memoir-without giving away too much.

Lynette: I’ve written two memoirs, both of which are in the editing stage right now. The first is the recent history of my family as told through its secretive (and costly) attitudes about money. It’s called My Mother’s Money.

The second, which I might fictionalize to protect the innocent and myself, is shall we say, based on having worked for eleven bosses in eleven years—in a single institution.

Sue: How do you divide your time between editing other people’s work and doing your own writing?

Lynette: The two actually feed one another very nicely. My own writing is improved by teaching creative writing and journaling, as well as from editing writers’ work.

For the most part I work on long pieces in the mornings, and client work (editing) in the afternoons. I write essays and blog posts in the evenings.

Bio
Lynette Benton is a Greater Boston writer, writing instructor, and coach. Her work has appeared in numerous online and paper publications. For writing tips, visit her web site and follow her on Twitter.

                            LYNETTE'S garden blog photo

Lynette, thank you so much for taking the time to answer my questions. I’m looking forward to reading your memoirs and keeping up with your blog.

The more time I spend creating community among writers, artists, and healers, I’m finding the encouragement out there is overwhelming. If the  adage, “you create your own reality” is true, I’m ready.

So many great teachers are willing to provide relief and support. Please buy their books and sign up for blogs!

Author:

I'm a writer, artist, and spiritual intuitive. Illustrated journals are my passion and I've been journaling since childhood. I believe in the power of sharing stories together. Working on a memoir.

6 thoughts on “Talk Shop with Writer Lynette Benton

  1. Lynette and Sue, I really enjoyed this interview. Thank you Lynette for the very detailed response on what makes good writing. I am sure to implement this advice in my writing.

  2. Hi Andrea, thanks for introducing me to Lynette. Lynette, thanks for contributing. Polish and Publish is packed with great info.

    There is so much to consider, and as you said Andrea, to implement. Time for writing. 🙂

  3. Lynette and Sue, thanks for an insightful and informative interview. I garnered a couple of tidbits I think will nurture me along my memoir writing path.

    1. Hi Sherrey, great to see you. I agree. I’m learning so much just by browsing through Lynette’s website. She has some beautiful connections and so much insight.

  4. Thank you for this insightful interview, Sue and Lynette. It is so nice to learn more about you, Lynette! I appreciate your writing tips, especially the importance of” varied rhythms.”

Leave a Reply

