Posted in inspirational, journaling, memoir

Post 30

 

back ally ellis neighborhood copy

I am the artist, the looker and seer,

belonging to no niche, no definite set,

I roam the world.

Back alleys and Saturday morning towns are

my reason for living.

Side streets and abandoned woods pull me

from childhood to my T shirt old lady self.

The grain of the bark, the tree’s angular reach,

excite me like the thick of your hand.

Possessing nothing more

than my box of pencils and brushes

my sustenance, the momentary torment

pushing, pushing.

It’s time to move on

and ramble home.

new-sketch-of-small-town name copy

Writing, art, and photo credits: Susan E. Rowland

Journal prompt: 1) take a walk, bike ride, or drive around your own neighborhood. Look for one or two things you never noticed before in your familiar environment. Write about what you’ve seen. 2) Take an exploratory trip into a new place like the next town over or a city neighborhood with which you’re not familiar. What kinds of thoughts do you have?

 

Author:

I'm writing. I haven't been on my blog much, so please forgive the lack of updates. I'm doing art. My life is dedicated to any cause that helps the planet and is good for children and other living beings. Don't get me started on politics because it won't be pretty. Humor helps. Check y'all later.

4 thoughts on “Post 30

  1. This is a wonderful, evocative post, Sue. It reminds me to slow down (ever more than I make a point of doing) and pay attention to the places I pass, to allow myself to be a part of them, not just a visiting spectator.

    Do you know the Keri Smith book: How to Be an Explorer of the World? I think it would speak to you.

    Thank you for this timely post and moving poem.

    1. Hi Lynette, thanks for the comment! I’ll look for the Smith book. I agree about slowing down. Drawing and sketching is a great tool for helping participants be in the now moment.

  2. Susan, I found myself taking long, slow and deep breaths as I read this. Something I don’t often do is take time to breathe. Moving words, and lovely artwork. You are multi-talented!

  3. Hi Sherrey, I appreciate the feedback. I think we can all use breathing lessons….woo-hoo! Now to get energized. I’m enjoying your blog so much. Thanks for being there!

Leave a Reply

