Posted in faces, journaling, Writing for healing

Faces

mayan 2

Faces are a gift and a treasure chest of writing prompts for journal keepers.  Artists, photographers, poets and dancers cherish the character of the face. The world of theatre and music is nothing without the actors and singers’ expressions. Think of silent film. The story lines evolve totally around faces and movement.  It works.

While plastic surgeons make millions on people unhappy with their looks, most of us enjoy what is real and nonetheless, flawed. How shallow and insensitive have we become in our modern lives where we have so much. Here’s a celebration of  art and normal beauty. Personally, I like the faces of the elders. I like the lines, wrinkles, and the unpretentiousness.

                                   I have seen many things

                   Emma Plenty Wolf Hollow Horn, 1982, at her birthday

Photo of Emma credit: Casey for Eyapaha 1987 Engagement Calendar

Produced by KILI Radio, Porcupine, South Dakota and Oglala Lakota College at Kyle, South Dakota.

What her face inspires and seems to say: I am one who has seen many things. My people are testimonies to my life.

Journal prompts:

  •  Go out and look at people. Study their faces. What stories do you see in their expressions?
  • Ask a friend or willing passer-by if you can take a profile shot and then write a story.
  • Go to an open studio art class and draw the face of the model. What are your results?
  •  Take 15 minutes and watch a TV talk show program without sound.  Free write on  your impressions.

Prayers for the family of Trayvon Martin and all concerned. Here is my statement below. We are not going away any time soon. I stand with the families of victims at Wounded Knee, Newtown, Aurora, and Sanford.

sue's-banner-5

Collage composition by the author.

Author:

I made it this far and plan to keep going. I believe nature heals the soul. I love to journal, to write, do art, and music. I'm not afraid to tackle tough subjects. Solar-powered & drive hybrid. Trying to do my part. Earned my BA at 53. And, I believe, it's never too late to have a happy childhood.

Leave a Reply

