Posted in inspirational, journaling, poetry, Writing for healing

Reinforcements from Snoopy

snoopy rock 2 copy

On the highway by the side of the road
lives Snoopy Rock
who greets us,
commanding happily that we
stay in the zone.
Falter not
ye of little faith,
your loved ones will be safe.

I am understood on Sunday afternoons
when my loneliness
threatens to swell and I’m questioning everything,
yet
almost three decades,
we have traveled side by side,
talking, sharing, sometimes swearing.

You know my every move
when I want to falter or feel bad,
but the confusing moments soon recede into peace

when I look at the outline of the formation
and the little cartoon dog right here
on the chair
it’s the stuffed Snoopy you brought me
from Knott’s Berry Farm the year Uncle Robert had his 83rd birthday
and I had a paper due so I didn’t go.

There by the side of the road, when I miss
my generations, past and future, their eyes, their kisses,
I’m catapulted from the blues by
the weekly creation of a man who
struggled with anxieties
and he drew his way through life,
from worrying
to sublimating.

Again I’m uplifted by the sight

and

you are always so nice to me
even when it’s a tied ball game
with bases loaded.

snoopy 4 u copy

Journal prompt: Write about your favorite cartoon character and/or your best friend.

Happy journaling!

Photo and poetry Copyright © 2013 by Susan E. Rowland

Author:

I'm writing. I haven't been on my blog much, so please forgive the lack of updates. I'm doing art. My life is dedicated to any cause that helps the planet and is good for children and other living beings. Don't get me started on politics because it won't be pretty. Humor helps. Check y'all later.

Leave a Reply

