Posted in inspirational, intuitive readings, journaling

September Harvest and Virgo Rising, Ramblings on Seasons and Astrology

                                  mother teresa 2

“Not all of us can do great things. But we can do small things with great love.” – Mother Teresa, a Virgo.

September is such a lovely month. Fall colors emerge and harvest time is here. School starts. Temperatures cool off in the Northern Hemisphere.  It’s Virgo time until the 21st when we move into Libra. Virgos are said to be born to serve, are analytical, and can be somewhat critical. If you need a good legal correspondent or health care professional, hire a Virgo.  Earthy, practical and often punctual,  natives are said to make good researchers. Their birth season is  harvest time, so food and matters of diet are highlighted. Think cornucopia.

Don’t believe in astrology? That’s ok. I was a skeptic too. My first encounter with an astrologer was with my neighbor back in Oakland during the early ‘70’s. Annie, an older classy Libra made a flippant comment to me  with “Well of course you are a Gemini! I could have told you that!” I huffed and puffed and took my curious Gemini, sensitive Moon in Cancer self off to the nearest used book store and bought Write Your Own Horoscope, by Joseph P. Goodavage. I was up all night reading. I remember daylight emerging as I, with my natal Virgo rising,  started analyzing myself, then everyone in my family and of course,  my friends.

Goodavage set out to disprove astrology once and for all. He fell head over heels into the study. He wrote about the history, citing facts, and then wrote lessons.  He became a professional astrologer.

I still have the faded, out-of-print copy of Goodavage’s book on my shelf. I’ve never thought to part with it.  In those early days when Annie tried to tip me off about the Gemini archetype being bookish, yet excitable like a bird hopping from tree to tree, and a jack of all trades, I wanted to resist and argue. So, I read everything I could get my hands on about astrology, including the farmers almanac and the Foxfire books series and recorded it all in my journal.

People fear what they don’t understand. So,  even though I was worried about being considered fickle and changeable, (sorry, nobody gets out of the challenging aspects of astro-analysis), I was already studying  Jung’s synchronicity when astrology entered my consciousness.  I share a birthday with diarist, Anne Frank. When I read her diary I felt as if I was looking into my own psyche. Later on, when I started doing channelings and past life regressions I visited one of my lifetimes where I had an experience similar to Anne Frank. Why do certain images or thoughts pull at us?  Synchronicity, dreams and memories start to make sense when we do art and write. These stories are told in my memoir.

In tarot, the card corresponding to Virgo is IX, the Hermit. It’s one of my most treasured archetypes and one of  my personal  numerology  numbers. The Hermit is the ultimate analyzer. Taking time to study and walking alone in nature is dear to me.

                                     Sue's hermit card

Of course, there is much more to the story than one’s sun sign. After 30 plus years of pouring over natal charts and aspects, I still feel like I’m at the beginning.

I’ve never been into trying to persuade anyone to believe in something.  Science is here for a reason. I do need proof and I don’t follow anything blindly. Certain images, symbols and experiences one feels are highly personal. That’s art. For me,  it’s fun and reassuring to know that there is a huge family of believers out there who already understand a way of looking at life. I love the light.

 Have a theory? Bring it on! I’d love to talk. Curious about an intuitive reading? Email me.

                           original gourd deco

Journal prompt: Write about astrology. Do you believe in it? Do you share any of the traditional archetypes of your sign? Do you share a birth date with anyone famous? Write out your feelings about astrology and numerology. Hogwash or lots of fun?

Happy Labor Day and journaling!

Art, photos, poetry  copyright  ©2013 by Susan E. Rowland, all rights reserved.

Author:

I'm writing. I haven't been on my blog much, so please forgive the lack of updates. I'm doing art. My life is dedicated to any cause that helps the planet and is good for children and other living beings. Don't get me started on politics because it won't be pretty. Humor helps. Check y'all later.

8 thoughts on “September Harvest and Virgo Rising, Ramblings on Seasons and Astrology

  1. Sue, I have always been intrigued by your beliefs about astrology and all the ways you use your intuitive gifts for yourself and for others. I think I remember Annie from one of your stories in our workshops. Thank you for sharing your journey with us. I know your memoir will be fascinating!

  2. Hi Kathy, thanks for stopping by. It’s fun to know there are lots of people involved with the intuitive world. Everyone is intuitive and psychic to some degree. For me astrology is like looking at a weather report. And yes, I did write about Annie. I wonder where she is now. Here’s to love and light. Back to work. 🙂

  3. Hi Sue, this post really resonated with me. It’s not that I believe in astrology, but I do refer to it as part of accessing my intuition. I believe that my psyche is always being bombarded with messages and signs. Astrology is one way.

    I am looking forward to reading your memoir.

    1. Hi Andrea, so happy to see you and thanks for stopping in. So…what’s your sign? Just kidding 🙂 I think the messages and symbols are great for writing, and that the universe is constantly giving gifts that inspire. Happy writing!

  4. I liked this post too. I have had astrological readings, tarot card readings, and rune readings that have been incredibly insightful, predictive, useful, and energizing. Sometimes the affirmation of a path from an outside “source” provides strength.

  5. Hi Cheryl. Great to see you! I love it all. The Runes are really interesting, thanks for mentioning. I just finished making my own little personal oracle deck-very plain. At one class we made a Soul Collage © deck and that was very cool. Last night the hubby (Gemini Sun, moon in Pisces, Cancer rising and quite intuitive), and I made a couple of cards. What came up for me was the clock and the symbol of time. The message for this card is about “having enough time.” :-0 All the best, talk soon.

  6. We have a cat, Oliver D. Place, who is a Virgo. He will immediately clean wherever he has been petted. Great eye contact, so you know he’s thinking about what you’ve said or what you’re doing. Very picky stomach, though. He can catch, eat and keep down an entire mouse, but a small can of cat food, not so much. Very different and more dainty than our other cat, Checkers, a Taurus. And yes, I believe that our furry friends are affected by their birth signs, too! I mean, why not?

    1. Jackie! Thank you for this! I love it. Perfect name for a Virgo cat. “Everything in its place.” I can’t wait to hear more about your furry friends and their astro-antics. Am looking forward to reading your book too. I’m so glad you took the time to come and chat. Send your website link when it’s up, ok?

Leave a Reply

