Posted in inspirational, poetry, social commentary

Too Much News

wheel

The full moon heat

blasts a tinged round glow

nightfall chatters

and it’s all too much;

time to write in my journal

and turn the TV off.

Perusing poems in boxes,

old files on amber paper

turning slowly, looking

for a clue

a message somewhere,

from relatives past.

I find photos instead of

my friend who lived to be 106.

He was a fiddle maker who

mourned that people lived under bridges

and he wondered how things could get so bad.

But then he finally faded away

as folks freaked out about Y2K.

black and white mark walker                                    Mark Walker l882-1999 Leap Year Baby

Fast forward to  the “end” in 2012,

when apocalyptic cranks amped up the pace,

rationalizing monstrous CEOs

fled outsourced cities

leaving chemical dumps and nuclear waste.

One year later it’s 2013

fancy phones cost hundreds per month,

advertisers hawk

claiming you need it…

the overload, the upgrade, faster, faster

trending, bending, twerking, jerking

crazy makers faking burns for attention.

You’re not big enough for me to waste my time

claims some crème de la foo foo, with a flick of her wrist.

You don’t know me but I know you, say I.

Frenetic tactics require hits and likes, likes and hits,

it’s so me, me, me me!

“Look at me Mommy, look at me!”

Adults are simply children

in big bodies posing and fluffing

searching for an unfulfilled dream.

I’m shutting it down, tapping the screen-

Excuse me please, don’t intend to be rude

but I can’t stand this place or the attitude.

I’ve  gone to look for whales.

the big open ocean copy

Journal prompt. Free write about how you feel when you read the news or are checking what topics are trending on the internet. Don’t worry about timing, punctuation or proper grammar. Just get the thoughts and feelings out.

Discussion: This is the third write of a poem that may or may not work for the reader. I’ll probably end up editing it again. I was flipping through TV channels when I saw that some girl faked getting burned as an internet prank. I was in a burn accident caused by an engine overheating  and, let me tell you, it is not something you would ever joke about. And all the hoo-haw about twerking? Whatever consenting adults want to do is their business. I’m not watching. Smartphones? Love ’em but can’t stand the ads. Do people talk together anymore?

So last week the  hubby and I decided to take a drive to the coast and visit with part of the family. It was just what we needed yet I wondered if we should buy a radiation detector. More later. Love you all.

Happy journaling!

Copyright © 2013 photography & poetry by Susan E. Rowland

Author:

I'm a writer, artist, and spiritual intuitive. Illustrated journals are my passion and I've been journaling since childhood. I believe in the power of sharing stories together. Working on a memoir.

2 thoughts on “Too Much News

Leave a Reply

