Posted in inspirational, time

November Gratitude Post 4 – Old Books

                            moore 3 copy

I am grateful for old books. Maybe you thought I’d list good graces, kindness and courage under fire. No, not right now.

It’s books I’m tethered to, unashamed and faithful.

I love old books, timeless, preserved and not in a hurry.

They smell sweet, like evergreens and comforting cedars,

Like grandfather’s apple tobacco and grandmother’s delicate embroidery.

The old books have something special.

It’s their covers, their pages, their mysteries.

My favorite friends, stalwart and true, all my life I’ve been in love with you.

The brightest newest hot seller fails to thrill me like the old books…

Journeys into the foundations, the precursors of what is now.

Take me away, slow tales and secrets of yore.

What is present has gone before.

peoples dusty home library copy

Copyright ©  2013 free style poetry and photography by Susan E. Rowland all rights reserved

Author:

I'm writing. I haven't been on my blog much, so please forgive the lack of updates. I'm doing art. My life is dedicated to any cause that helps the planet and is good for children and other living beings. Don't get me started on politics because it won't be pretty. Humor helps. Check y'all later.

Leave a Reply

