Posted in journaling, memoir, Writing for healing

Gratitude Post 8 – The Folks

mom and dad

I am grateful for my parents.

Mom and Dad are departed and I’m sure, quite happy on the other side. God, I miss them. They were 83 and 84. Mom passed in 2002 at home. Dad departed four years later in the same room. I was glad to be there with him.

That overcast day in early March, the Hospice nurse took one look at me and said “you need to take a rest.” I was reluctant but forced myself to go back down the hall to my guest room at the senior housing residence. I tried to nap, fitfully going over the stark realization that the end was imminent. I  felt ok and had said everything I needed to say to Dad, yet I continued to evaluate my life and my relationship with him.  Less than twenty minutes later the nurse, a huge angel of a woman we’ll call Rosie knocked on the door and said, “I think he’s gone.”

True to his personality, Dad wrapped it up at 5:00 pm on a Friday.

Ironically, it was a big woman who was there at the end. My family had always been judgmental about certain things and fat people were at the top of the “don’t be like this” list. When raven-haired Rosie had showed up a day earlier, I was grateful and tired.  The other case nurse, my sister, and an administrator just stood there staring at her because of her size, I suppose. I was appalled at their behavior. We were gathered in a circle by the front door of the apartment.  I grabbed Rosie’s hand and said, “great to meet you!” I meant it. She took over with such a quiet, sweet and knowing way that it still brings me to tears.

I miss the talks with my folks. So many people grow up without two parents or they have drama and fighting in their lives. We had some drama but it was never super bad. My parents did not fight.

Journal prompt: Write about your childhood and your parents. Did you grow up with your bio parents? If not, what were your circumstances? What did you learn from your parents? What was your family life like?

Copyright © 2013 by Susan E. Rowland

Author:

I made it this far and plan to keep going. I believe nature heals the soul. I love to journal, to write, do art, and music. I'm not afraid to tackle tough subjects. Solar-powered & drive hybrid. Trying to do my part. Earned my BA at 53. And, I believe, it's never too late to have a happy childhood.

2 thoughts on “Gratitude Post 8 – The Folks

  1. Thanks, Kath. The 30 day gratitude blog is turning out to be a great exercise. It’s interesting to see how little vignettes about big events in our lives help the writing process. Thank you for remembering along with me.

Leave a Reply

