Posted in home, inspirational, journal prompts, journaling

Gratitude Journal Post 17: Home

down the road she goes

Continuing on with the November gratitude journal-its day 17 already and I’m so happy to be doing the exercise. I’m surprised at the depth of emerging feelings.  As usual, ideas are abundant. I don’t have a problem with gathering snippets.  Doing a self directed project such as a daily blogpost is helping in other aspects of life and my other writing. The GJ also coincides with  participation in a daily meditation program Desire and Destiny with Deepak Chopra and Oprah Winfrey. It’s perfect companion tool for self discipline.

I am grateful for our home, for this box in the desert. Our house is more of a studio and our projects are always out. Since Jesse and I are both artist types this works for us. The house is simple and functional. We were very lucky to find it. The location is near a nature preserve. We have converted completely to solar power and am over the top proud of my commitment. This is the first house I have ever owned. I’ll do whatever it takes to be able to continue to enjoy this awesome privilege. I never ever take it for granted.  I love staying home.

Day trips or short jaunts suit me just fine. Once I get out on the road I enjoy the long hours and new sights. Maybe one day I’ll be a long distance traveler-but truly–down on the farm’ is the place I’d most rather be. Back to writing.

candy cactus

Journal prompt: How would you describe your home or current living arrangement? Do you love the idea of putting a lot of energy into your living space? Do you feel secure? Would you rather travel or spend time at home? Have you moved around often?

Above photos: Top is the country road near our home. The wild pig was a one time visitor. She showed up in our back yard with her babies. No, we do not encourage them or feed them, so please don’t get your knickers in a knot.  We opened the gate and away she went. Second photo: cactus blooms. Copyright © 2013 art, photos, and text by Susan E. Rowland

Author:

I made it this far and plan to keep going. I believe nature heals the soul. I love to journal, to write, do art, and music. I'm not afraid to tackle tough subjects. Solar-powered & drive hybrid. Trying to do my part. Earned my BA at 53. And, I believe, it's never too late to have a happy childhood.

Leave a Reply

