Posted in Gratitude, holidays, Writing for healing

Gratitude Wrap Up November 2013

                                              candle collage

Hello readers, thank you for being there. You rock. Here’s the  rest of the gratitude list.

Thanksgiving Day November 28 2013: I am grateful to be able to afford a simple meal and deliver cheery messages to friends and relatives. We had a quiet day this year. Looking forward to seeing family soon. We are not always traditionally scheduled, so we celebrate when we can. Mmmmm….. cranberries….mashed potatoes and gravy. Pies!

Today, November 29. I am grateful for my First Nations teacher and my mentors, and  the Thirteen Indigenous Grandmothers.  I am not quite able to get the words written yet. From you I learn the true meaning of humility, but the word is not even close to what you demonstrate during our time together. Your bravery, courage, and humor about devastation  is  something I am not qualified to articulate. But I can try.  My life is dedicated to the honor of knowing you.

Bill Wahpepah

  In loving memory Bill Wahpepah

I am grateful for poetry – it saves my sanity.

I am grateful for education.

Most of all, I am grateful for my dear  life partner, my children and my grandchildren on both sides of the family, and for my friends. That’s a book by itself.

And, I’m grateful for my challenges and troubles for without them, I would not know shadow. There’s no fancy or literary way to say it.

Moving on, looking forward. Time to re-organize and get ready for December and then the New Year!  Happy Holidays everybody!

Journal prompt: Do you like the holidays and what do you celebrate? What is your favorite  holiday experience and what aspects do you find challenging, if any?  Free write about how you feel about traditions or religious celebrations  if you have them.

                        candle in black and white

Copyright © 2013 art and  text by Susan E. Rowland

Author:

I made it this far and plan to keep going. I believe nature heals the soul. I love to journal, to write, do art, and music. I'm not afraid to tackle tough subjects. Solar-powered & drive hybrid. Trying to do my part. Earned my BA at 53. And, I believe, it's never too late to have a happy childhood.

Leave a Reply

