Posted in forgiveness, journal prompts, spirituality

Silence and Play: Happy New Year 2014!

                                                      Happy New Year 2014!

                                                     One Earth by Shay copy

                                                          Collage by Shay, age 8

I feel like I’ve been away so long and have missed you all in the blogosphere.! Wishing you all the best with much writing,  art-making, storytelling or whatever it is you do for 2014. If you’re in the cold Northeastern states, wishing you much safety and warmth.

My focus in 2014 is to continue doing what I did last year and that is helping others learn to read, and to gain access to education.

2014 is about completion and follow through on projects. I’m continuing my work as a steward for the earth. Look for upcoming articles.

No regrets!

I don’t do the year in review summaries that are on the news and in most blogs and in every magazine. However, I do feel reviewing is a great journal technique and self-evaluation tool.

Recently when Mandela made his final crossing I decided not to speak for a moment. My aim was to go 48 hours in silence. I didn’t quite make it the full two days. The takeaway from not speaking was a sense of otherworldly peace and a renewal of confidence.  Silence helped to calm my mind and go into a deep state of meditation. I found myself immersed in the concept of forgiveness. I pondered the life of those who have been in, and still are, in captivity. The images of  school shootings and the rage of isolated, mentally ill individuals haunted me. The issue of contempt by an individual for another human being, engulfed me. I wanted to continue on in reverie and go more deeply.

I found that thoughts go full circle.  How we treat ourselves is usually how we treat others. There is always something to learn; we are never finished. How can I do better in my own life?

During my silence I felt the ultimate lesson is that the mind and heart are free. Humans are animals yet we are burdened and blessed with the capacity for intellectual prowess and the ability to control….to an extent. We cannot control raging winds, fires, water and drought.

My concern as an older person is about what we are doing with our world and how we are leaving it for generations to come. Will we be known for making the necessary changes for the Earth?

I write to write and that’s it.

This year maybe more people will decide to use their dollars as votes. Maybe solar power companies will expand. Maybe people will decide that NO GMO is a valid cause.  The health of the planet is directly related to our own lives and health. Lay down the contamination and warmongering and replace it with dialogue, healing, and action.

My point is that no longer are the opinions and approval of others as screamingly important to me. Yes I need feedback, we all do. But,  I have to stand for something, to be a role model for what is good and whole. My quest as an artist –writer is to keep working on what matters to my soul and for my authentic self, and to be of service to others.

2014: The sheer joy of being a witness to innocent creativity is enough to keep me happy. My one resolution is to take time to play!

Enclosed are my granddaughter’s New Years art collage cards. Have a great week!

                                                    play by shay 2014 January copy

                                                              Collage by Shay

Journal prompt: Do you celebrate New Year’s? What about resolutions, the year in review and other traditional activities. Free write about what the New Year means to you. If you have a symbol, a favorite phrase, power animal or goal for the New Year, please feel free to share it here.

Author:

I'm a writer, artist, and spiritual intuitive. Illustrated journals are my passion and I've been journaling since childhood. I believe in the power of sharing stories together. Working on a memoir.

4 thoughts on “Silence and Play: Happy New Year 2014!

  1. Happy New Year Andrea! Here’s to writing and creativity. Stay warm up there! We’ve been watching the news about the freezing temps. You guys are tough. I am officially a wuss now. 🙂 Thanks for stopping by to comment.

Leave a Reply

