Posted in inspirational, journal prompts, journaling, Writing for healing

The Death of Fishin’ Mike and Cancel My Ticket, I’m Earthbound

 1)

A full moon lunar orb tinged with pink

shows up just to verify

I am able to see it.

Weeks of up and down waves kind of had a crashing effect

and hearing of yet another loved one’s passing

challenges our courage once again.

Of course he’s not suffering any more

but Jesus, this was a guy

who never forgot your husband’s everlovin’ birthday.

They were fishing partners for 20 years.

The guys had  routines

with profound conversations:

“I hear the fish are biting down at the channel.”

“Oh yeah? I didn’t have much luck on Thursday.”

“Well I caught a couple stripers the other day.”

“Really? Whadja use for bait?”

“Sardines, man.”

“Want to go out tomorrow?”

“Sure I’ll pick you up.”

You know how men are. Deep.

So when the guys are out Mama gets to read a book at home in peace and quiet

and putter around in the garden, call a friend or two…

see how the kids are doing.

Once in a while she goes along,  knowing that ‘one more cast’

means another hour

at least,

so mostly she stays home and goes from her book

to watching 48 Hours and then she starts worrying.

There might be a crazy person out there.

But she doesn’t want to bother them out at the lake.

He calls faithfully.

He always does.

“We’re comin’ in. Got a few.”

They were both honorable that way.

God, death is a mean one.

IMG_20140115_181445_687

2)

I knelt softly on the mossy earth

tending to my dreams,

not this time I whispered

once again

my feet can’t leave the ground

even when my heart is over the treetops.

It’s nothing a good nap won’t solve.

full moon and treetops

Journal prompt: Write about how life events affect you, such as the death of a friend.  Have you ever had a temporary fear of flying or of travel? What about procrastination?

Discussion: Often in journal writing we are able to uncover subconscious factors that emerge when we are talking about random things. Say for example you’re uneasy about something but you just can’t figure out why. Later on you have an ah-ha moment that gives you insight. You’re needed at home  or you have a break-through in your work because you stayed home to work and didn’t go to that certain party. Or, perhaps as you continue writing, a theme about childhood abandonment or perhaps another matter makes its presence known. In the journal process revelations occur when we least expect them.

Copyright © 2014 by Susan E. Rowland

Author:

I'm a writer, artist, and spiritual intuitive. Illustrated journals are my passion and I've been journaling since childhood. I believe in the power of sharing stories together. Working on a memoir.

2 thoughts on “The Death of Fishin’ Mike and Cancel My Ticket, I’m Earthbound

  1. Dear Sue, I’m sorry about your loss. The journal prompt and discussion are extremely helpful. It’s exactly what I needed. I’ve been procrastinating on some of my empowerment studies and I have yet to journal about it.

  2. Hi Andrea, it’s been nuts lately emotionally. I hope you do the writing on empowerment. If you ever want a writing buddy, I’m here. Feel free to post your work here. I just started back on the book. In writing support, Sue.

Leave a Reply

