Posted in celebrations, inspirational, journal prompts, memoir, Writing for healing

Coming Out

each moment is a new beginning

I’m outing myself! No, not that. I’m a straight psychic with a hint of the conventional.

“Do it only because you love it”— Barbara Sher, It’s Only Too Late if  You Don’t Start Now

The gift of being intuitive comes with a price which is usually  from a near death experience or devastating event. The shock comes when you doubt yourself.  But you know that you know. After a while the hiding starts to wear you down. Then, you give in and come out. The folks who used to torment me by walking around in my mind and causing sleepless nights  started fading away. The need to impress anyone or  to battle my true identity disappeared into the sunset.

  I spent decades working for less than stellar pay.   A family member  used to ridicule  me about my  so-called life choices and “lack of interesting work” and not living up to my potential.  In retrospect, I never felt bad about my  service to the community or the earth.  Elitism bores me to tears.   All rejections have turned into great teachers.

Much as I dislike the term “psychic” I now am now no longer afraid to take my place where I belong. Try switching up the word “psychic” with “recognizing” or “seeing.” Seeing is recognizing. In my coming out phase of life, a certain freedom exists. Just look at spring cherry blossoms on an old tree. Without the aging trunk with its extended gnarly branches there would be no blossoms. Nature is not afraid of color, diversity,  or aging. People are.

“ I had no intention of losing hope and giving up.” —Viktor E. Frankl, Man’s Search for Meaning

portrait of the artist as a young woman                                         portrait of the artist as a young woman

Come out, come out wherever you are!

People who have the sixth sense are often tested by non-believers. The point is when we open ourselves to the gift of Spirit a profound shift occurs and information is delivered. Anyone can learn. Psychic messages can be arrived at through meditation, making art, dancing, trance channeling, repetitive movement and dreaming. Clairvoyant messages may also appear in a flash of recognition to the practitioner.

Here’s one of my magical grounding tools.

         worry rock

Take any smooth rock, especially a river rock, and hold it for at least 10 minutes. Take a deep breath, counting to four… in through the nose and exhaling out through the mouth. As you exhale, imagine all your concerns disappearing.  Repeat the breathing exercise four times. Then, out loud, give all worries and concerns to your stone as if speaking to a dear friend. You can be as crude or as formal as you want. I like to be a little formal, just to be ceremonial. Say “I now release all worries about money and health.” Or, “I no longer  want to hold onto any insecurity,” etc.  Be specific. Use details. As you hold your stone, ask for what you WANT. For example, ” I now affirm that I am in my new house.” Or, “I now feel healthy and whole.”  See yourself as ALREADY doing what you want. Practice SEEING yourself  in your new life role. Remember to conclude out loud with something like “and so it is” “amen” or “true dat!”

 Don’t forget to thank your healing tool, the  angels, and Spirit out loud.  Observe your body and how it feels afterwards.

Happy Spring! Happy blossoms. I’m glad to be OUT as a hetero- intuitive and ABOUT as….myself.

Journal prompt 1: Do you believe in the paranormal? Have you ever had any experiences, visions, dreams or do you do readings? Does your family of origin have any opinions about psychics or intuitives? Do you fear psychic phenomena? Write about your experiences or feelings.

Journal prompt 2: What is your vision of success?

Copyright © 2014 by Susan E. Rowland

Author:

I'm a writer, artist, and spiritual intuitive. Illustrated journals are my passion and I've been journaling since childhood. I believe in the power of sharing stories together. Working on a memoir.

4 thoughts on “Coming Out

  1. I’m no more psychic than the average person, but I really identify with what you say about “coming out” as who you really are. Especially this paragraph:
    “I spent decades working for less than stellar pay. A family member used to ridicule me about my so-called life choices and ‘lack of interesting work’ and not living up to my potential. In retrospect, I never felt bad about my service to the community or the earth. Elitism bores me to tears. All rejections have turned into great teachers.”
    A friend and I have often discussed the question of what other people mean when they say we should get “real” jobs. Each of us has created a patchwork of part-time employment that we find very fulfilling and conducive to doing the most important things in life, but it seems that certain people will not be content until our pay grade confirms our intrinsic worth. I just have to shrug and think how sad it is that they don’t understand what really matters.

    1. Hi Sharon. Thanks for commenting! I think that some people are best fit for careers and high pay/status, while some of us work at jobs that allow us time to do artwork, writing, explore nature, and have freedom.

      We didn’t travel much back then, hence I developed a strong sense of local community. When I was raising my kids and worked different jobs, I had to take what I could get because I didn’t have a college education, and we were in a rural area.

      Take-away: You learn a lot by serving others and being “the help.” I often worked two jobs at a time. One, in a bookstore. A guy came in, looked at me and said to the owner, “is this the new help?” Others will use the phrase “late-bloomer.” It doesn’t bother me anymore.

      I was president of the Friends of Library for a couple of years, secretary, and treasurer, ran art programs for disadvantaged youth, volunteered for PAL, the police athletic league, and was able to serve on many levels. The keyword is: serve! I was a sub mail carrier for a while too. That was an adventure. Lots to write about.

      Nowadays things are different and people have to have IT skills to get by in the world. Our old jobs are becoming obsolete. I would tell young people to get an education as soon as they are able, if they can afford it. I don’t know if big debts are worth it, but I do think education is good…for some folks… Steve Jobs didn’t finish college.

      I say find your passion and give it all you’ve got, whatever “it” is!

      Long winded, but hey! Thanks again. 🙂

  2. Lovely post and artwork,Susan. I believe in the power of prayer, in angels and in dreams. At various times in my life, usually when I ‘ve undergone a stressful situation, I have had prophetic dreams which have guided me in my thinking and decision making. In times of intolerable stress, I grab my rosary beads which is not much different than your smooth rock. It becomes my grounding tool.

    1. Thanks, Kathy. Great to see you- I appreciate you stopping by. I agree…many people have intuitive dreams and report psychic events. I think such situations are becoming more mainstream and less woo-woo. What was once considered alternative is gaining a more solid reputation because of power in numbers. Prayers for a better world!

Leave a Reply

