Posted in friends, inspirational

Fork It

pottery flowers bricks on left

Fork it she used to say
“Another one bites the dust”
when a neighbor couple broke up-
something like that,
and one time way up in the mountains
she drove the whole way on the back road
with her top off
and I was cringing at her
trying not to look at
her super small breasts and
muscled arms with pale freckles.
Luckily she put her blouse back on
when we got to the paved road.
I was always watching, standing back, observing.
I never understood how anybody could
leave their kids
to go travel around the world.
But she was a nurse
and not even her own son could stop her
from being important.
Maybe she was looking for a new man.
One time, she thought she found one
in Egypt.
But it didn’t work out.
She had been to Nepal, Honduras, Guatemala,
all over the place
working as an ER nurse.
I was a townie,
worked the county fairs, the crops, the markets,
and delivered mail.
I didn’t venture out much,
familiar with
every creekside, each bend in the road,
and all the sacred groves from Hopland to Dos Rios,
anticipating a late Spring rain
when it was too early to put in tomatoes,
and the soft scent of manzanita blossoms
bounced up from Red Hill.
I had to make rent and…
wouldn’t you miss your children?
She died ten years later.

© copyright 2014 poetry and photography by Susan E. Rowland

Author:

I'm writing. I haven't been on my blog much, so please forgive the lack of updates. I'm doing art. My life is dedicated to any cause that helps the planet and is good for children and other living beings. Don't get me started on politics because it won't be pretty. Humor helps. Check y'all later.

4 thoughts on “Fork It

  1. Something I never understood is the compulsion to travel. “It’s a way to escape from everyday stressors” says one. “You can learn about other cultures” says another. My rebuttal to these reasons are that I desire to face my stressors, not escape them. Making something positive out of the stresses in my life makes my life exciting! As far as learning about other cultures? 90% of these “cultural experiences” that I hear about involve staying at the Marriott or Hilton, purchasing an “all-inclusive” that is premised on never leaving the property, and attending shows that are commercialized and sensationalized specifically for the tourist. I would much rather read about the diverse world on-line where I can travel from the North Pole to South America while never leaving my home, or my kids! Then I’ll write about it, incorporating a moral lesson that I have just reconciled into it. Perfect and free!

  2. LOL beautiful! I think certain people are geared to travel. I like being home and doing day trips or two day trips. But long voyages, cruises, and long plane rides don’t intrigue me. The library is my way of traveling. And also, the travel channel is great… Rick Steve’s Europe… I admit it- I travel through the TV. Maybe one day it will be different. No fear! Miss my dear friend. She had such an adventurous spirit.

Leave a Reply

