Posted in adoption, Writing for healing

Day Five: Janey’s Letter

Day 5: Writing 101 aka Blog Challenge
Prompt: You discover a letter on a path that affects you deeply. Today write about this encounter. Be brief.

The last box of Janey’s belongings were packed. I was in denial that my best friend was dead at thirty-eight.

As I headed to my truck a paper on the ground caught my attention. It was a letter was stamped two weeks ago.

Dear Janey,

I can understand why you might be angry with me for not trying to find you.

There is something I need to say.

Your mother and I had hit a rough patch in August 1968. I had just been drafted-tried to get out of it by marrying your mother and going to college, but I wasn’t accepted. Never was a good student.

Marie and I had a terrible argument over money.  The next day I was on my way home from work. It was payday and I was going to stop and buy a steak to celebrate even though we were broke.

Just as I turned the corner and headed up the street I saw your mother in Billy Martin’s driveway. Your mother and Billy ran away.

Last month I saw your award picture in the newspaper and I knew you were my daughter.

Here is my phone number if you want to call.

Love,
Your daddy,

*Randolph Henderson

(*fictitious name)

Copyright © 2014 by Susan E. Rowland

Author:

I'm a writer, artist, and spiritual intuitive. Illustrated journals are my passion and I've been journaling since childhood. I believe in the power of sharing stories together. Working on a memoir.

2 thoughts on “Day Five: Janey’s Letter

  1. So much mystery. I wonder if it still goes on since no one writes letters anymore, everyone’s online. I couldn’t write these kind of things online!
    Great.

  2. Thank you for commenting. Fiction is freeing. I started out with a true situation (my friend) and then made up the story around the letter. Brevity is a challenge so I am grateful for the assignment.

Leave a Reply

