Posted in blog challenge

Freudian Flips-The Fighting Doves

Blog Challenge (paraphrased) Freudian Flips. Write about a dream you have had recently or in the past. Add your interpretation.

 I think I had this dream before the kids were born. My first boyfriend *Henry and I did a lot of camping and hiking. I was in my early twenties when I had the dream and it has always stayed with me because of its vividness.

 I am sleeping in an open field next to a little church. Henry and I have a camping spot there. The church parishioners are holding a rummage sale and I go over and find a lovely blouse. It is lightweight and I’m happy to find it for such a low price. I go back to my camp. I am concerned that the people will come and see that we are living like gypsies and I don’t want to be seen living like that. As I am lying there, two white doves start circling in the air above me. Then they are fighting each other. As they fight, they dive bomb towards my chest as if they are going to attack me. But I feel nothing and am not hurt.

I wake up with start and feel an overwhelming sense of joy, levity, and relief.
*******
Interpretation. I’ve always felt that the two doves in the air represented an internal battle with myself-fear and anger? I eventually left Henry because we argued often. We lived an alternative lifestyle back then. The two doves might also represent an external battle. I had to have my heart “opened” symbolically, to release anger and fear and to receive true spiritual love. The church (non-denominational religion) and spirituality have always been important to me, but not in a traditional sense. We were outside the church-outside mainstream religion. The blouse represents an article of clothing that I enjoy, and I’ve kept favorite blouses for many years. Blouses cover the breasts which symbolizes nourishment and female sensuality, the divine feminine. In that relationship with Henry my personal power was diminished, even though he was not figuratively in the dream.

Short summary: conflict will not kill me.

                                                              IMG_20140617_144253_815

This is a quick interpretation. Please let me know your thoughts.

Author:

I made it this far and plan to keep going. I believe nature heals the soul. I love to journal, to write, do art, and music. I'm not afraid to tackle tough subjects. Solar-powered & drive hybrid. Trying to do my part. Earned my BA at 53. And, I believe, it's never too late to have a happy childhood.

Leave a Reply

