Posted in blogaday, stream of consciousness writing

Offsides Memories-Super Bowl XX111

Blog challenge: Team USA is playing today in the soccer World Cup in Brazil. Do you have any funny/harrowing/interesting memories from a sporting event you attended, participated in, or watched?

I have lots of funny stories about my participation in sports but am not prepared to share them yet. Some of the best writing is sports writing. Talk about timing and detail. That, and car owner testimonials. People put their all into it, and it shows.

 Football caught my attention because of two men. My very first true love was a kicker in high school, and  my husband now is an avid watcher. I loved basketball and baseball. I enjoyed volleyball and swimming. But, if I had to choose, I’d take walking in nature over all of it.

The most exciting game EVER was the Super Bowl XXIII in 1989 when the 49ers beat the Bengals with 34 seconds left. Joe Montana threw a touchdown pass to John Taylor. Wow!

During the 49er heyday, I knew all the players and their bios-their astrological signs and marital status, where they were from etc. For about four years, legendary Joe Montana and phenom, Jerry Rice, and all the other fantastic players made the 49ers exciting beyond compare. Ronnie Lott was a dreamboat. Roger Craig, a great runner. Linebacker Bubba Paris, in another game (?) caught or intercepted a pass and I literally saw a huge bear with a surprised look on his face lumbering down the field to make a touchdown. Roaring good times. Tom Rathman was another imposing personality. I called him the Nebraska Farm Boy, because of his looks-as in cornfed. Steve Young used to make me have IBS when he ran backwards. Keena Turner. How can you forget such names? Sigh.

Haven’t been into football since. As they say, they just don’t make ’em  like that anymore. But, more likely, it’s because I’m not up with it all anymore.

Author:

I'm writing. I haven't been on my blog much, so please forgive the lack of updates. I'm doing art. My life is dedicated to any cause that helps the planet and is good for children and other living beings. Don't get me started on politics because it won't be pretty. Humor helps. Check y'all later.

Leave a Reply

