Posted in Writing for healing

Sleepy Time and Late Night Comedy

June blog challenge- more and more of us go to bed too late because of sleep procrastination. What are the nighttime rituals that keep you up before finally dozing off?

The rituals that keep me from sleeping well just might be an occasional after dinner coffee or tea, that evil temptress of forbidden fruits! Hmmm, a piece of dark chocolate. I write every night and play on Facebook. I’m not usually a night owl and turn in before 12:30 am. I take media fasts more often than not, however….

 I’ve started taping all my favorite TV shows that include too many to mention: Long Island Medium, Iyanla, Fix My LifeThe People’s Court with Judge Milian, and now, Naked and Afraid, darn it. Been there, done that-not with the naked thing, but close to it with living off the land. But those close-ups of venomous snakes just will not do. I still turn my eyes away-same with parking garage scenes in scary movies.

The biggest sleep scapegoat is late night comedy. I blame any poor sleeping habits on Jimmy Fallon… and  Roots. I still love Arsenio Hall. I so hope they keep his show. I am  glad Fallon got The Tonight Show. But topping Fallon, and an absolute must for my sleep hygiene wrecker is The Daily Show. Yes, there are the other clever ones…full of double entendre and satire. I come from that pathology, so it gets on my own nerves at times. You know how non-ethnic types just love being clever? It’s quite important to them, us, they, we….oh, heck!

True crime stories and detective shows, not the fake ones, disrupt my organic REMS, and we won’t even get into astrological aspects until later. For anyone who still doubts global warming and planetary influences, that’s ok. Don’t worry. You’ll figure it out in your next life.

I told y’all I was an irreverent mystic type. I get to poke fun at celebrities and comedians because I’m just a little peanut out here in cyberville. I know you’re  sneak reading the gossip magazines in the grocery store. Fess up.

PS: My favorite insta-calms are Chopra and Winfrey meditation CD’s, the ocean, and chamomile tea. Turner Classics. And two hours of yoga. Every night. Did I sound convincing?

Peace out brothers and sisters!
((hugs))

Author:

I'm writing. I haven't been on my blog much, so please forgive the lack of updates. I'm doing art. My life is dedicated to any cause that helps the planet and is good for children and other living beings. Don't get me started on politics because it won't be pretty. Humor helps. Check y'all later.

2 thoughts on “Sleepy Time and Late Night Comedy

Leave a Reply

