Posted in animals, poetry, time, Writing for healing

Let Happiness Return

Let Happiness Return Today

 

Journal entry from 1979

Journal entry August 8, 2014, 8:01 pm

 

        In the long quiet heat

        the pinto pony stands in his postage stamp corral at the end of the road

         near the mailboxes.

         Some new people have moved in.

          I  feel so sorry

           that such a lovely animal is trapped in a small space. I wonder

           who rides him

           if ever?

           There is no room for him to run, no space for kicking up heels.

   So perfect, so lovely, and so alone.

     He waits each day for fresh hay and when I go by the house I never see people around.

     Where are the children who run out to greet such a beautiful creature?

       I call it pet slavery.

       Maybe I am wrong.

        Just maybe,

       I am wrong.

 

Journal prompt: Go through your past journals and pick something that you’ve written that you like. Then write about what is going on in your life right now. Take a ‘snapshot’ of one feeling, one incident, and write a poem or a few brief paragraphs about it.

Author:

I'm writing. I haven't been on my blog much, so please forgive the lack of updates. I'm doing art. My life is dedicated to any cause that helps the planet and is good for children and other living beings. Don't get me started on politics because it won't be pretty. Humor helps. Check y'all later.

3 thoughts on “Let Happiness Return

  1. You have a compassionate heart. Also, there’s something moving about the way you contrast the old poem (one of wide generalities and happiness) to the new one (one of specifics and worry).

  2. Beautiful poetry in your 1979 journal entry. I love that it is like words in a mist shining through – not fully formed sentences yet the meaning totally clear. The pony’s “postage stamp corral” makes me feel the sadness of his plight from the beginning. Fine and wonderful writing.

  3. Thank you Viva, I really hope the horse gets ridden. I wanted to take a photo but not sure about protocol…maybe somebody takes him out more often than it seems. Thanks for stopping by!

Leave a Reply

