Posted in social commentary

Five Reasons for a Media Fast

collage for media fast sept 14

 

Hello readers. Checking in to share my recent news and  say I missed you all. Your blogs are so crazy good-you keep me educated and entertained. You rock!

Since my last post I did a four-day media fast-no Facebook or  social media, no news, no internet searching, no TV.  She wipes her fevered brow.

The hardest part was withdrawing from my favorite TV shows, not social media as I’d anticipated. My shows are taped so that I can sit back and breeze through them at the end of the exile.  So what happened you ask?  I read books, organized, and took care of business much more efficiently. I worked.

So here are some reasons why a media fast is important:

  • It’s easy to do
  • Relaxation is complete
  • You get stuff done
  • You go outside and exercise more often
  • Better sleep

And, I’m getting my writing accomplished.

On that cheery note, I bid you farewell and until later….

IMG_20130622_114255_683

Happy journaling or whatever it is that gives you joy.

Ciao!

(Lower photograph taken inside the historic Mendocino Hotel)

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Author:

I'm writing. I haven't been on my blog much, so please forgive the lack of updates. I'm doing art. My life is dedicated to any cause that helps the planet and is good for children and other living beings. Don't get me started on politics because it won't be pretty. Humor helps. Check y'all later.

9 thoughts on “Five Reasons for a Media Fast

  1. I wondered where you were. Your media fast sounds so healthy. I believe every part of it would be beneficial – if only I had the nerve to go cold turkey. I love the pictures with your post.

  2. Hi Viva 🙂 thanks for commenting. I’m enjoying your travel writing!
    Am working on getting some new art and writing done.
    Staying away from the news for a moment helped my blood pressure. :0 xo

  3. Great idea, Susan! I fasted from media a while back and dang if I didn’t feel twitchy at first. But then the fine business of reading, hiking, meditating, watercoloring,writing and living in a non-e-world kicked in and it was pure euphorbia. Time to do it again. Thanks for the reminder.

  4. “You go outside and exercise more often”

    I must have put on 20 pounds last 12 months sitting in front of this computer screen.But if I take time out, I’ll never be able to respond to all comments or make the courtesy visits to those in our network.

Leave a Reply

