Posted in journal prompts, writers, Writing for healing

Patience for Dummies

mop

“It is very strange that the years teach us patience-that the shorter our time, the greater our capacity for waiting.” Elizabeth Taylor

A great teaching occurred during the span of the last four days. Things weren’t connecting properly and I couldn’t seem to shake a feeling of foreboding. My writing seemed jagged, over-emotional, and disconnected. I kept walking outside and looking around, saying aloud “something is going on.” As an intuitive I “should” be used to this. It’s not about me-it never is. The knowing is like listening to rush hour every morning. You know it’s going to happen on weekdays. There’s nothing you can do about it, so resisting the noise is futile.

But I just couldn’t place what my angst was about and the nagging tug was making me impatient. Maybe it’s my natal karma to be impatient. Mom said I was born in an hour and she barely had time to get to the hospital after her water broke. Mars was in Gemini-meaning let’s rock and roll, people!

So last week I was ready to get back to work and fill book orders. Ten brown paper bags filled with books stacked neatly in the foyer remained unlisted on the computer.  I just couldn’t quite part with them.

So I made a list and followed it to avoid going completely mad.

Here’s what helps me when I’m feeling restless:

  • Mop the floors
  • Hang sheets out to dry in the sun
  • Work in the yard
  • Clean drawers and closets.
  • Arrange bookshelves
  • Take a walk for at least 30 minutes
  • Dance

                                                                               clothespins

So losing myself in  mundane chores helped…a little. By Saturday night, and then early this morning, I learned that two of my favorite inspirational authors and teachers had crossed over. Dolores Cannon and Masaru Emoto  got their wings. Cannon was one of the first psychotherapists to discover that past life regression is real and vital to patient well-being and healing.  Emoto gave us scientific validation of the healing properties of water. Check out his water crystals pictures.  Both were ahead of their time.As trailblazers, both had to be incredibly resilient and patient. Visionaries often have to work against ridicule and doubt, even outright rejection. Sometimes they don’t receive the recognition due  them. Those of us who understand wait patiently (or not) for the rest of society to catch up.

After hearing the news about their deaths my wondering about ‘the feeling” ceased.

It’s not sadness I  felt but gratitude and a big dose of patience. Within the paper bags by the front door were most of my Dolores Cannon books and extra copies of The True Power of Water, and The Hidden Messages in Water by Emoto.

                                              “The fates have given mankind a patient soul”  – Homer

Journal prompt: Write about patience. Are you generally a patient person or do you have to work at it? Do you have people in your life who have helped you become more patient? Who or what inspires you to slow down and be more thorough? What about waiting? Does waiting drive you nuts or do you enjoy it? What helps you feel more relaxed and calm?

Copyright © 2014 by Susan E Rowland

 

 

 

Author:

I made it this far and plan to keep going. I believe nature heals the soul. I love to journal, to write, do art, and music. I'm not afraid to tackle tough subjects. Solar-powered & drive hybrid. Trying to do my part. Earned my BA at 53. And, I believe, it's never too late to have a happy childhood.

2 thoughts on “Patience for Dummies

  1. I love the quotes about patience – Homer’s and Elizabeth Taylor’s. I have learned patience in my present time of life. Because I no longer drive, I rely on the Senior Transportation Connection to get me to doctor’s appointments. Their pick-up schedule is an inexact science. I’ve learned that waiting is just another way of being and much more peaceful than keeping to a schedule. Taking along the newspaper’s daily word puzzle page to work on helps, too.

  2. Hi Viva-did you like my weird choices in quoting? Tee hee. Thanks for commenting. I’m sorry the scheduling isn’t so great on the senior transportation-your phrase “inexact science” says it all. Also enjoyed your “waiting is just another way of being.” Bravo!

Leave a Reply

