Posted in writers

Mind Your P’s and Create a Vision Board for 2015

 

DSC01244

Here is why I do a vision board. You put your ideas into a form that you can see. When I do a vision board, as in collage-making, often the images bring their own power to the body, mind and spirit.

Vision boards serve to help you to:

  • Play
  • Plan
  • Participate
  • Produce

This year I’m looking to explore the night sky and the concept of shadow. There is no darkness because in starry nights  is the reflection of light and depth.Pure darkness might just be an illusion. In writing about life the  so-called dark parts become illuminated through examination, release, and understanding. Because I’m writing a manuscript, often my alone time is at night.

I don’t like to be outrageously self-promoting but with any creative work, marketing is a must.  Hence the stars around my name. Shameless promotion has to be in the journey-I call it confidence. I want to go swim with the dolphins and paint in Italy. The rest is self- explanatory. The little stamps at the bottom say  “1 with nature.”

Obviously I’m not anal about edges and details. Some people like to take a lot of time and make vision boards like embroidery. I just enjoy doing a quick cut and paste. The arranging is a lot of fun.

Have a great New Year 2015! If you make vision boards, please feel free to share.

                                                      DREAM BIG!

Journal prompt: create a vision board, copy and paste a photo of it in your journal. Write about your dreams and goals for the year. Write honestly and openly. Talk about why certain images have power. Did you discover anything new about yourself?

Discussion: I always add personal images to my board, that I keep private. The old saying, “loose lips sink ships” has a time-honored wisdom. Sometimes it’s good to keep our most precious goals to ourselves in order to keep them strong.

DREAM BIG.

PS: My site is still under construction. Please excuse the mess.

Author:

I'm a writer, artist, and spiritual intuitive. Illustrated journals are my passion and I've been journaling since childhood. I believe in the power of sharing stories together. Working on a memoir.

10 thoughts on “Mind Your P’s and Create a Vision Board for 2015

  1. Your vision board intrigues me. Your ideas connecting night and stars are beautiful. Beginning a blog where I am in life I find my vision board is floating in a sea of intuition. I connect to the universe as a source of surprises and gifts, though I’m not always aware of the possibilities. My vision board would be in the form of a cup held out like an expectant beggar.

  2. Thanks for commenting. Do you think you will make a vision board for 2015? I like your phrase “I connect to the universe as a source of surprises and gifts…” I’m interested in hearing more about the cup. What would you have the cup receive? Wealth, fame, recognition….what? Best wishes always.

  3. I’m glad you asked what I would have my cup receive. What I’m not interested in is wealth, fame or recognition in a larger space than my small blog community.. My writing a blog arrived as a gift when my son suggested it. My writing poetry is a discovery of springs bubbling up that I didn’t know existed within me. I knew I could write well but that is not the source of my joy.Several years ago I began to understand that the universe (maybe another word for God) lay outside my door and held rich surprises for me. Receiving the wisdom of being fallow gave me space for new seeds and growth. I recreated a new life and the universe opened doors as I moved along. Writing is the gift just for me so I can discover who I am that has encompassed being wife, mother, grandmother. My cup already overflows. People like you mirror my journey for me as a voice from the universe. What I bring to the table is being open and faithful to surprises. And grateful.Thanks so much for your good wishes. I see in you and your Vision Board what it is to take your writing seriously as well as finding and expressing your depths. My Vision Board is intangible and real.

  4. Thank you for taking the time to respond. I love discussions. What I am reading is that you are both receiving and giving. Your phrase “receiving the wisdom of being fallow gave me space for new seeds and growth” is poignant. Then, you share “my cup already overflows.” Bravo! I’m so glad to be a part of your community and always enjoy reading your work. I agree your poetry is evolving fast and has a special quality. I find poetry to be in its own league and refreshing. Hard to write sometimes, but completely refreshing. Cheers and ((hugs)) for your vision. 🙂

  5. Thank you. I like discussions, too. I feel you listen to me and hear what I’m saying. I was reflecting that I had written more formally then I intended. I’m happy you liked my response. About writing poetry – for me it began in Writing 101 because I wanted a shorter way to tell my stories ( i tend to get long-winded). I discovered that it seemed to be all in the meter and my poetry got better. Then the Haiku challenges came along. To me they are a word puzzle and finding the exact word to express myself and to keep within the limits of syllables per line is fun. Then I found out how to use tags. Putting poetry and haiku tags on my writing brought in a whole new bunch of readers. And I agree writing poetry is refreshing. Cheers to you and your Vision Board. I appreciate seeing how you plan your writing. I get that what you put on your board takes on a life of its own and grows. ❤ ❤ 🙂

    1. Viva! Formal is good. I like formal because I need structure. Long winded is good, because life (hopefully), is long. I completely relate to your points about the brevity of poetry. Poetry is so difficult to write. I hope to spend the rest of life learning about it. Haiku is…like making love…so sensuous. For me, haiku is life itself. It can be cold and brutal in its honesty. It is soft and warm. It is immediate like a brush stroke in a painting. Cheers to you and happy writing! ❤ I am way behind on comments to everyone else's blogs. :0 Just got another gray hair and I don’t care. 🙂

      1. i love the way you respond and turn my hesitations about what I have written to positives. ❤ I especially like what you say about haiku. Something I notice about haiku – I had something in mind when I wrote one yesterday and two people responded with two different takes on what I wrote. I think the brevity of haiku gives readers space to fill in the blanks for themselves. I am awed about your intentions for your writing. i look forward to finding one of your posts in the Daily Digest list. Sorry about your gray hair, Mine are all white so one more makes no difference. 🙂

      2. Turning everything into positives is a survival mechanism. “Though there must be winds that she does not like, still the willow.” I will go back to the Daily Digest. Do you have to sign up again? I won’t make jokes about Alzheimers. Organizing and doing actual writing is taking up a lot of time. Ever grateful and here’s to not caring about hair color. ❤

Leave a Reply

