Posted in womens history month, Writing for healing

Last Day of WHM aka I Wish I Wrote Comedy

Did you see Comedy Central with Justin Bieber apologizing and being roasted by Kevin Hart along with Shaquille O’Neal, Snoop Dog, and Martha Stewart? Then, Helen Mirren on Jimmy Fallon was funnier still. I wish I could write comedy. But  I don’t write comedy so here goes.

Before Women’s History Month draws to a close, I wanted to talk about some books I’ve had on my shelves for years. Each one is an anthology-great for restless and eager readers who like to scan. All writers have an insatiable longing to reach out to others. For some, the reason for writing has been a way to deal with the marvels of life, the mundane, and the sheer pain of existence.

grandmothers

 

“If I didn’t have a sense of humor I would have cracked up a long time ago.” -Shirley Chisolm.

I decided to list some of my collection in random order. I chose excerpts that spoke to me.

Here we go:

Lives of Our Own, Secrets of Salty Old Women, by Carolyn Bird

“Whenever they come, the changes caused by age alone are minor annoyances that take a woman by surprise.”

Sisters of the Earth, Women’s Prose and Poetry about Nature Edited and with a Preface by Lorraine Anderson

“Several days and nights have passed and it is again just after twilight. Up here on the mountain, I can look down over the country. There’s a lake down below me; in the far distance are the Black Hills, and I can see the lights of Rapid City. ” – Brooke Medicine Eagle

500 Great Books by Women, a Reader’s Guide. Erica Bauermeister, Jesse Larsen, and Holly Smith

“Adversity is the mountain we never planned to climb, the illness we have to overcome, the poverty that shrinks our stomachs and chafes our minds; a society, an army, a person that threatens our lives.” P. 287

Written by Herself, Autobiographies of American Women an Anthology. Jill Ker Conway, editor

“The girls discussed it at night and I prayed for help.” -Dorothy Reed Mendenhall

Women at Ground Zero, Stories of Courage and Compassion edited by Susan Hagen and Mary Caruba

“‘Ella’s interview was considerably different from the rest. She guarded her emotions carefully and told us that she was reluctant to share her feelings too deeply.

” I haven’t really let myself feel it yet,” she said about the tragedy. “I keep myself busy.’” Lieutenant Ella McNair, Fire Department of New York, Engine 283, Brownsville, Brooklyn

women from ground zero

 

By a Woman’s Hand, a Guide to Mystery Fiction by Women, second edition. Edited by Jean Swanson and Dean James. Preface by Nancy Pickard

“Haymon, S.T. Haymon’s first mystery novel has perhaps one of the most distinctive and curious titles in contemporary mystery fiction. Death and the Pregnant Virgin (St. Martin’s Press, 1980), besides introducing policeman Benjamin Jurnet, Norwich-born and bred, to modern detective fiction, signals the author’s taste for Baroque.” P. 107

I Dream a World, Portraits of Black Women Who Changed America, Photographs and interviews by Brian Lanker, edited by Barbara Summers with foreword by Maya Angelou.

“My mother always told me to be overqualified for everything.” -Mary Frances Berry

“My mother read poetry to me before I could read.”- Margaret Walker Alexander

Fifty Celebrate Fifty, Fifty Extraordinary Women Talk about Facing, Turning, and Being Fifty, from the editors of More Magazine, foreword by Susan Sarandon

“I didn’t think about turning 50, because every second, every minute of every day I’m here is a godsend.” – Beverly Mosley

fifty over fifty

 

 

Journal prompt: make a list of some of the favorite books on you shelves.  Have you ever donated or sold books only to go back and buy them again? I have.

Happy Spring!

 

Author:

I made it this far and plan to keep going. I believe nature heals the soul. I love to journal, to write, do art, and music. I'm not afraid to tackle tough subjects. Solar-powered & drive hybrid. Trying to do my part. Earned my BA at 53. And, I believe, it's never too late to have a happy childhood.

Leave a Reply

