Posted in inspirational

Make Art not War

dad painting 2 okinawa copy Resolution over conflict is no utopian fantasy, Calm the feverish pain of thundering rage, Gluttony for land, for oil, spilling  the uranium page, leaving toxic shattered wounded beaches. You are wrong. Healing is the most manly courage, not the pillage of a culture or a village. I did not choose it, nor did the children in Syria. No history is glorious when toppling tyrants, pushing insanity on others because of a shameful personal demon that must be dominated. Men and women could be deployed to rebuild, creating beauty with the will to teach and protect.

deep in painting dad on okinawa

Dad

US Army, Okinawa

Journal prompt: write freely about your thoughts on war. Do you feel war is imperative? What are your views on religious wars? Are you a veteran? What have your experiences been?

market place

Discussion: I’ve written previously about my father’s war service on Okinawa. I’m working on a longer piece about his friendships with the Okinawan artists, dear friends who taught him about Buddhism and about their culture. They also taught him painting techniques. Dad passed on his love of painting to me, and my son is a professional house painter with an eye for detail. I work with the expressive arts as a healing modality with people of all ages.  Art, dance, music, writing, and poetry…and sports…. can be a medium for conflict resolution and spiritual development. Wouldn’t the world be a happier place if we all did more art?

Copyright © 2015 by Susan E. Rowland Photos and  images may not be used

Author:

I made it this far and plan to keep going. I believe nature heals the soul. I love to journal, to write, do art, and music. I'm not afraid to tackle tough subjects. Solar-powered & drive hybrid. Trying to do my part. Earned my BA at 53. And, I believe, it's never too late to have a happy childhood.

4 thoughts on “Make Art not War

  1. I was brought up short when I read the words and then that your father wrote them. It is lovely to hear how art and artists can live side by side with the worst things humans can do to each other. Your legacy from your father to paint, and passed down to your son who paints houses, touches me. I’m glad you write beautifully about such real things. ❤

    1. Viva, thank you. I have two huge scrapbooks of Dad’s time on Okinawa. I’m feeling a book coming on with his stories. They all just wanted peace, and end to war, and shared a love of art. More later! ❤ Ever grateful ❤

  2. It’s amazing the amount of correspondence between the three men-my father, A* and T.* I am not ready to publish their names yet. I have to research the families to see if any descendants are available to talk to me. Also, there are the letters my parents wrote back and forth to each other during the time Dad was stationed over there. It’s all formulating and percolating…..<3

Leave a Reply

