Posted in journaling, stream of consciousness writing

For My Nieces

yesterday in solitude

two rabbits approached to play

where we put out bird seed.

just like a puppy, the bunny rolled around in an earthen indentation

while the doves fed and quail strutted.

roadrunner came by for a frantic visit

going this way and that.

I have so many wild pets and birds

that when thunder came by this afternoon

I was not lonely.

Never wanting for anything

the scent of desert waters

reminds me of childhood

when watching storms was the greatest pleasure,

yet when I hear your story

I wish there was something I could say

to ease your young mind.

The only thing I can think of

is what Mama would say to me

when lightning and tears

felt like they would surely suffocate my spirit:

“Keep that chin up, honey,”

You are stronger than you know.”

 

 

 

 

 

Author:

I'm writing. I haven't been on my blog much, so please forgive the lack of updates. I'm doing art. My life is dedicated to any cause that helps the planet and is good for children and other living beings. Don't get me started on politics because it won't be pretty. Humor helps. Check y'all later.

2 thoughts on “For My Nieces

Leave a Reply

