Posted in journaling

I Wrote This

Remodeling….again….scuse the mess!

cropped-tree.jpg

Found while browsing through my own files:

Working through trauma is considered a difficult task. The memory of an experience works as a trigger for a racing pulse, anxiety, and at times, the inhibition of will. Even our family background and genetics is said to be a foundation for how we deal with issues, be it dating, work, finding opportunities and expectation of personal success or failure. Whole books have been written on the topic of uncertainty. Daniel Siegel writes in the foreword to Louis Cozolino’s, The Neuroscience of Psychotherapy, “Cultural evolution continues to mold our synaptic architecture, influencing how we experience our inner, subjective lives and learn to communicate with one another.” I love those two words “synaptic architecture.” I’m excited to continue my work in daily writing as a way to gain confidence and to teach what I’ve learned to others.

You can tell I was in school or taking an online class in journal therapy during the past few years. In plain language I was trying to say trauma affects the brain.

Love, me.

 

 

 

Author:

I'm writing. I haven't been on my blog much, so please forgive the lack of updates. I'm doing art. My life is dedicated to any cause that helps the planet and is good for children and other living beings. Don't get me started on politics because it won't be pretty. Humor helps. Check y'all later.

2 thoughts on “I Wrote This

  1. Interesting exploration of trauma and how it affects different people in different ways. The sixty-eight-year old wife of my second cousin was injured terribly when an eighteen-wheeler broadsided her car almost three months ago. She is paraplegic and still in a rehab hospital. Her courage and determination is amazing, as is her family’s support. She just does not give up. Her response could understandably have gone another way.

  2. I am so sorry to hear about the accident. Sending ((((hugs)))) and much comfort to your cousin, his wife, and to you! I had to re-read your comment and get the connection right. I was just writing about attitude, trying to get the words right on the page… and I wondered how do we really keep a decent outlook on life as we get older? Or at any age. One of my dearest friends just turned 76. We were co-workers for many years. Here’s to looking ahead with confidence. ❤

Leave a Reply

