Posted in Earth Day, natural resources, social commentary

Meanwhile, Back on Earth….

the moonscape

 

Meanwhile, back on earth, nobody cared much because the people were too busy with their self-importance. It all became inconveniently uninhabitable.

*************

“But Mommy why didn’t somebody do something when the polar ice caps were melting? Why did we all have to move to the Moon?”

“That’s just the way it is, honey. People couldn’t get along well enough to change things. Corporations were only interested in profit. Someday you’ll understand. Now put your gas mask on and zip up your radiation suit. Let’s go see if we can spot a kitty cat. I heard there might be one across the ozone desert. They released a few from the laboratory three years ago. Two survived. Isn’t that exciting, dear? Plus, we have a ten-day credit left on our oxygen card. We’ve got it good!”

Author:

I made it this far and plan to keep going. I believe nature heals the soul. I love to journal, to write, do art, and music. I'm not afraid to tackle tough subjects. Solar-powered & drive hybrid. Trying to do my part. Earned my BA at 53. And, I believe, it's never too late to have a happy childhood.

6 thoughts on “Meanwhile, Back on Earth….

    1. Hi Susan,
      I haven’t read that one, but I will. Is it part of the Martian Chronicles? It was more a film noir or Nevil Shute type feeling that came over me when I clicked on the above National Geographic link. On the positive side of things, I will say that our family home is completely solar powered and we drive hybrids-well one for now. If there’s anything that I am proud of, besides the dear hubby, my kids and grandkids…it’s my solar powered house! Oh and also, all the smart and dedicated young people in the sciences, medicine, sustainability and global environmentalism!

    1. I am in complete non-denominational 24-7 prayer mode that the great beings of the beyond will help keep us from destroying ourselves. I have lived a good life, but I am not sure what kind of deteriorated mess we will leave for future generations around the world. Money can be made without all the destruction but apparently certain corporations and institutions refuse to see it. I will remain optimistic…so …please…if you see my writing getting too dark, rein me back in please, my dear friend! xo

  1. Megabank and megacorp greed would soon destroy moon too. Don’t they get it. If there is a contaminated ruin of an earth, they can’t get any more money out of it? How can’t believe how little attention the mess radiation Japan gets in the media. Outta be front page every day.

Leave a Reply

